Mother Teresa

Mother Teresa to Rev. Lawrence Picachy: “Tell me Father, why is there so much pain and darkness in my soul?”
….
Kolodiejchuk: “The tendency in our spiritual life but also in our more general attitude toward love is that our feelings are all this is going on. And so to us the totality of love is what we feel. But to really love someone requires commitment, fidelity, and vulnerability. Mother Teresa wasn’t ‘feeling’ Christ’s love, and she could have shut down. But she was up at 4:30 every morning for Jesus, and still writing him, ‘Your happiness is all I want.’”

Mother Teresa’s Crisis of Faith, TIME

I read this article right before I went to India. I was looking through the books and magazines in my brother’s book shelf and stumbled upon a gem. There was a TIME magazine with Mother Teresa on the front page. She is my role model and one of my favorite historical figures. 🙂 Flipping through the pages, I found the article about Mother Teresa and read through it. Following that I ripped out the pages and put it in a plastic sleeve. I brought it with me to India, and I still have now.

The article taught me two things:

  1. Faith does not look a certain way. Just because you are struggling does not mean you are a bad Christian. Look at Mother Teresa. She was a SAINT, and she felt so far away from God. Can you imaging how much that hurt? Just a glimpse of Christ’s separation from God. And yet we know that Mother Teresa was a woman of God, not because of the positive, bright manner of her faith but the authenticity of her faith.
  2. It’s not all about feelings. Sometimes you just have to do, even when you don’t feel like it.
Leave a Reply

