Vincent

A great fire burns within me, but no one stops to warm themselves at it, and passers-by only see a wisp of smoke.
— Vincent van Gogh

My father told me about Van Gogh many times growing up. It was amazing to finally see his paintings when I visited Europe with my family years ago. You could just feel the emotions mixed in the painting strokes and swirls… (especially his self-portrait! spooky with a mix of sadness).

He was deemed as crazy and witless. But now (after he died) we see him not only as a person who made works of art but a person who was a work of art himself. Artists are often misunderstood by others, but the way their minds and hearts churn and breathe and live are intricately… magnificent.

Don’t know where I’m going with this post. Well, I do. It’s personal. So I’ll leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

